Country GuideSpain

From Global Connections

According to UNCTAD's 2015 World Investment Report, Spain is ranked 12th in the world for foreign direct investment (FDI) inflows. Spain received FDI inflows of USD23 billion in 2014.

Spain ranked 33rd in the World Bank's 2016 Doing Business rankings, moving up one place from 34th in the year prior. The ranking recognised reforms enacted by Spain to make doing business easier in the country. This included strengthening minority investor protection by requiring major sales of company assets to be subject to shareholder approval. Spain also made paying taxes less costly by reducing rates for corporate income, capital gains and environment taxes and made it easier by introducing an online system for filing VAT returns.

Key facts about starting a business in Spain:

  • It takes approximately 14 days and seven procedures to start a new business in Spain; this process is detailed in the Doing Business in chapter
  • The minimum wage in Spain for 2016 is EUR655.20 per calendar month; employment regulations are discussed in detail in the Labour chapter
  • It takes approximately 45 days and costs EUR44,835 to obtain a building permit
  • Spain was ranked 14th in a comparison of 36 countries' intellectual property systems that assesses cost, speed, quality of judges/tribunals, quality of advice and the fairness and predictability of decisions; intellectual property rights are discussed in the Legal overview chapter
  • Companies that wish to list equity securities can choose from the Stock Markets of Madrid, Bilbao, Barcelona or Valencia; this is discussed further in the Finance chapter

While investing in Spain is a transparent and largely straightforward process, it is important to understand the nuances of any local regime. The manner in which people conduct business in Spain may differ from the home countries of investors. Furthermore, variations on these distinctions may exist in different regions of Spain and the industry in which a company operates.

Spain's official language is Spanish. However, Basque, Catalan, Galician and Occitan are recognised as co-official languages in certain regions.

In Spain, hierarchy and status are valued. The Spanish also place high importance on appearance. Business attire is typically conservative; nevertheless, this may vary across different industries.

A handshake is the typical greeting for a new introduction and business cards may be exchanged after initial introductions. Gift giving is not expected in Spanish business culture.

Those looking to establish a business in Spain will often look to countries across the European Union (EU) as alternative options. While membership of the EU ensures parity in many aspects of the legal, Tax and Audit regimes, Spain can be differentiated on the following factors:

  • Spain is the fifth largest economy in the EU and one of the fastest growing in the Eurozone
  • Spain is strategically located to provide access to almost 1,900 million potential consumers across Europe, the Middle East and Africa
  • Amongst others, the Government provides financial aid and tax benefits for activities pursued in certain industries which are considered to be priority industries; discussed further in the Trade chapter
  • Highly qualified workforce, with 41.5 per cent of those aged 25-34 year olds having tertiary education
  • Spain was ranked sixth in the world for the quality of its transport infrastructure; further details in the Infrastructure chapter

Although there are many benefits of investing in Spain, foreign investors should remain aware of potential challenges. There is a high degree of devolution of powers to the country's 17 autonomous regions. This contributes to a complexity in regulation and can be a hindrance to foreign investment.

This guide has been developed to provide businesses with an overview of Spain, its legal regime, start-up and market entry considerations, tax and customs requirements and a general summary of the factors that may affect the decision to do business in Spain. However, the information contained in this document is generic in nature and you should not act or rely on it without obtaining specific professional advice.

Please note that the Country Guides may only be available in English.

Useful Links

1

Central Mercantile Register

2

Tax Agency

3

Agency of Data protection

4

Immigration Office

5

Spanish Patent and Trademark Office

6

Invest in Spain

7

Ministry of Employment and Social Security

Sources

1 UNCTAD World Investment Report
2 Doing Business Rankings
3 IP Index
4 Access to 1,900 consumers
5 Tertiary Education

Download Country Guide - Spain (2.9MB, PDF)

Disclaimer

This document is issued by by HSBC Bank plc, Sucursal en España (the Bank).  This guide is a joint project with Grant Thornton. It is not intended as an offer or solicitation for business to anyone in any jurisdiction. It is not intended for distribution to anyone located in or resident in jurisdictions which restrict the distribution of this document. It shall not be copied, reproduced, transmitted or further distributed by any recipient. The information contained in this document is of a general nature only. It is not meant to be comprehensive and does not constitute financial, legal, tax or other professional advice. You should not act upon the information contained in this document without obtaining specific professional advice. Whilst every care has been taken in preparing this document, the Bank and Grant Thornton makes no guarantee, representation or warranty (express or implied) as to its accuracy or completeness, and under no circumstances will the Bank or Grant Thornton be liable for any loss caused by reliance on any opinion or statement made in this document. Except as specifically indicated, the expressions of opinion are those of the Bank and are subject to change without notice. The materials contained in this document were assembled in January 2016 and were based on the law enforceable and information available at that time.

Grant Thornton refers to the brand under which the Grant Thornton member firms provide assurance, tax and advisory services to their clients and/or refers to one or more member firms, as the context requires. Grant Thornton International Ltd (GTIL) and its member firms are not a worldwide partnership. GTIL and each member firm is a separate legal entity. Services are delivered by the member firms. GTIL does not provide services to clients. GTIL and its member firms are not agents of, and do not obligate, one another and are not liable for one another’s acts or omissions. This publication has been prepared only as a guide. No responsibility can be accepted by GTIL for loss occasioned to any person acting or refraining from acting as a result of any material in this publication.

HSBC retains all responsibility for the translation of the content of this guide. In the event of any discrepancy or inconsistency between the English and translated versions of this Guide, the English version shall apply and prevail.

Contact us

You are leaving the HSBC Commercial Banking website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.

Country GuideSpanien

From Global Connections

Gemäß dem World Investment Report der UNCTAD für das Jahr 2015 steht Spanien weltweit an zwölfter Stelle der Länder, die ausländische Direktinvestitionen (Foreign Direct Investment, FDI) erhalten. Im Jahr 2014 beliefen sich die ausländischen Direktinvestitionen auf 23 Milliarden US-Dollar.

Im Doing-Business-Ranking der Weltbank von 2016 steht Spanien auf Rang 33 und verbesserte sich damit im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um einen Platz. Dabei wurden die Reformen des Landes berücksichtigt, die die Durchführung von Geschäften erleichtern sollen. Dies umfasste die Stärkung des Schutzes von Minderheitsinvestoren durch das Erfordernis einer Zustimmung der Gesellschafter bei wesentlichen Veräußerungen von Gesellschaftsvermögen. Spanien machte auch Steuerzahlungen weniger kostenaufwendig, indem es die Kapitalertrags- und Umweltsteuern senkte und die Durchführung der Zahlungen durch ein neues Online-System zur Einreichung von Umsatzsteuererklärungen vereinfachte.

Wichtige Aspekte zu der Unternehmensgründung in Spanien:

  • Um ein neues Unternehmen in Spanien zu gründen, sind ungefähr 14 Tage und sieben Verfahrensschritte erforderlich. Dieser Prozess wird im Abschnitt Geschäftstätigkeit in näher behandelt.
  • Für das Jahr 2016 beträgt der monatliche Mindestlohn in Spanien 655,20 Euro. Die Arbeitsvorschriften werden im Abschnitt Arbeit thematisiert.
  • Bis zum Erhalt einer Baugenehmigung vergehen ungefähr 45 Tage und die Kosten dafür betragen etwa 44.835 Euro.
  • Beim Vergleich der Systeme zum Schutz geistigen Eigentums von 36 Ländern belegte Spanien Platz 14. Dabei wurden folgende Kriterien berücksichtigt: Kosten, Bearbeitungszeiten, Qualität der Richter/Gerichte, Beratungsqualität sowie die Fairness und Vorhersagbarkeit von Urteilen. Das Thema geistige Eigentumsrechte wird im Abschnitt Rechtlicher Überblick näher behandelt.
  • Gesellschaften, die die Zulassung an der Börse beantragen wollen, können zwischen einer Notierung an den Börsen von Madrid, Bilbao, Barcelona oder Valencia wählen. Dies wird im Abschnitt Finanzen erörtert.

Obwohl Investitionen in Spanien nach einem transparenten und relativ einfachen Muster erfolgen, ist es wichtig, die lokalen Besonderheiten zu kennen. Das Geschäftsgebaren in Spanien kann sich von dem unterscheiden, das die Investoren in ihren Ländern gewohnt sind. Hinzu kommen Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Regionen und Branchen.

Die Amtssprache in Spanien ist Spanisch. Allerdings werden Baskisch, Katalanisch, Galicisch und Okzitanisch in bestimmten Regionen als Ko-Amtssprachen anerkannt.

In Spanien spielen Hierarchie und Status eine wichtige Rolle. Spanier legen außerdem großen Wert auf das Erscheinungsbild. Die Geschäftskleidung ist in der Regel konservativ, wobei es jedoch Unterschiede zwischen den einzelnen Branchen gibt.

Beim Vorstellen einer Person erfolgt normalerweise ein Händedruck, und Visitenkarten werden für gewöhnlich nach dem ersten Kontakt ausgetauscht. Geschenke gehören in Spanien nicht zur geschäftlichen Etikette.

Wer beabsichtigt, eine Firma in Spanien zu gründen, wird sich oft auch in der gesamten EU nach alternativen Standorten umschauen. Obwohl die Mitgliedschaft in der EU Gleichheit in vielen rechtlichen, steuerlichen und prüfungsrelevanten Aspekten gewährleistet, bietet Spanien eine Reihe von Vorzügen:

  • Spanien ist die fünftgrößte Volkswirtschaft in der EU und eine der am schnellsten wachsenden in der Eurozone.
  • Das Land bietet einen strategisch günstigen Zugang zu mehr als 1.900 Millionen potenziellen Verbrauchern in Europa, Nahost und Afrika.
  • Unter anderem bietet die Regierung finanzielle Hilfe und Steuervorteile für Aktivitäten in bestimmten Branchen, die als vorrangige Branchen erachtet werden. Darauf wird im Abschnitt Handel näher eingegangen.
  • Hochqualifizierte Arbeitskräfte: 41,5 Prozent der Personen zwischen 25 und 34 Jahren besitzen eine Hochschulausbildung.
  • Die spanische Verkehrsinfrastruktur gilt als die sechstbeste der Welt. Weitere Informationen finden sich im Abschnitt Infrastruktur.

Obwohl Investitionen in Spanien viele Vorteile bieten, sollten ausländische Investoren mögliche Herausforderungen beachten. Den 17 autonomen Regionen des Landes wird eine Vielzahl von Kompetenzen übertragen. Dies trägt dazu bei, dass die Regulierung komplex ist, und könnte ein Hindernis für ausländische Investitionen sein.

Dieser Leitfaden bietet Unternehmen einen Überblick über Spanien und erläutert, wie das spanische Rechtssystem funktioniert, was bei Neugründungen und beim Markteintritt zu beachten ist, welche Steuer- und Zollvorschriften bestehen und welche Faktoren bei der Geschäftstätigkeit in Spanien von Bedeutung sein können. Die Informationen in diesem Dokument sind jedoch allgemeiner Natur, weshalb Sie nicht darauf vertrauen sollten, ohne sich zuvor professionell beraten zu lassen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Länderleitfäden möglicherweise nur in englischer Sprache verfügbar sind.

Nützliche Links

1 Zentrales Handelsregister
2 Steuerbehörde
3 Datenschutzbehörde
4 Einwanderungsbehörde
5 Spanisches Patent- und Markenamt
6 Invest in Spain
7 Ministerium für Arbeit und Soziales

Quellen

1 World Investment Report der UNCTAD
2 Doing Business Rankings
3 IP Index
4 Zugang zu 1.900 Millionen Verbrauchern
5 Hochschulausbildung

Country Guide herunterladen - auf Englisch - Spanien (2.9MB, PDF)

HAFTUNGSAUSSCHLUSS

Dieses Dokument wird von der HSBC Bank plc, Niederlassung Spanien (die Bank) herausgegeben.  Bei diesem Leitfaden handelt es sich um ein gemeinsames Projekt mit Grant Thornton. Er gilt gegenüber niemandem und in keinem Land als Angebot oder Aufforderung zum Tätigen von Geschäften. Er ist nicht zur Distribution an Personen in oder wohnhaft in Ländern, in denen die Distribution dieses Dokuments beschränkt ist, bestimmt. Er darf durch den Empfänger nicht kopiert, reproduziert, übertragen oder weiterverbreitet werden. Dieses Dokument enthält ausschließlich Informationen allgemeiner Natur. Es ist nicht als vollständig anzusehen und stellt keine finanzielle, rechtliche, steuerliche oder anderweitig professionelle Beratung dar. Die in diesem Dokument enthaltenen Informationen sollten nicht als Grundlage zum Handeln dienen, ohne vorher eine konkrete professionelle Beratung in Anspruch genommen zu haben. Obwohl dieses Dokument mit größtmöglicher Sorgfalt erstellt wurde, übernehmen die Bank und Grant Thornton keine Garantie, Gewährleistung oder Verantwortung in Bezug auf dessen Genauigkeit oder Vollständigkeit, weder ausdrücklich noch stillschweigend. Unter keinen Umständen haftet die Bank oder Grant Thornton für erlittene Verluste, die durch das Vertrauen auf in diesem Dokument geäußerte Meinungen oder getroffene Aussagen verursacht wurden. Außer in speziell gekennzeichneten Fällen werden hierin nur die Ansichten der Bank dargestellt, die ohne vorherige Ankündigung geändert werden können. Der Inhalt dieses Dokuments wurde im Januar 2016 zusammengestellt und entsprach zu diesem Zeitpunkt dem geltenden Recht bzw. den verfügbaren Informationen.

Grant Thornton bezieht sich auf die Marke, unter der Mitgliedsunternehmen von Grant Thornton ihren Kunden Bestätigungs-, Steuer- und Beratungsleistungen bereitstellen, und/oder bezieht sich je nach Kontext auf ein oder mehrere Mitgliedsunternehmen. Bei Grant Thornton International Ltd (GTIL) und seinen Mitgliedsunternehmen handelt es sich nicht um eine weltweite Partnerschaft. GTIL und jedes Mitgliedsunternehmen sind jeweils separate Körperschaften. Dienstleistungen werden von den Mitgliedsunternehmen bereitgestellt. GTIL liefert keine Dienstleistungen an Kunden. GTIL und seine Mitgliedsunternehmen vertreten und verpflichten sich nicht gegenseitig und haften nicht für Handlungen oder Unterlassungen anderer Mitgliedsunternehmen. Diese Publikation wurde ausschließlich als Leitfaden erstellt. GTIL übernimmt keine Verantwortung für Verluste, die durch Handlungen oder Unterlassungen aufgrund von Materialien in dieser Publikation entstehen.

Die Verantwortung für die Übersetzung des Inhalts dieses Leitfadens verbleibt bei HSBC.  Im Falle von Abweichungen oder Unstimmigkeiten zwischen der englischen und einer übersetzten Version dieses Leitfadens ist die englische Fassung anzuwenden und maßgeblich.

Kontakt

Ihr Zugang zum globalen Netzwerk

HSBC Trinkaus & Burkhardt AG ist für den Inhalt der folgenden Seiten nicht verantwortlich und übernimmt diesbezüglich keinerlei Haftung.

You are leaving the HSBC CMB website.

Please be aware that the external site policies will differ from our website terms and conditions and privacy policy. The next site will open in a new browser window or tab.